What’s Your Motivation?

Today’s post is a divergence from my usual content.  It is something that has been nagging at me for a while, so this is kind of a processing of the thoughts going around my head.

Over the past few years, it has been normal for many in the autism community to offer help to other families in our situation.  We are honored to assist in any way we can, either in person or by doing advocacy and activism work.  We don’t get any money for doing it, it is because we have been there and know what it feels to be in those shoes.

I have been wanting to begin a  business to help children with special needs to heal. As I read and listen to business related material, a lot of emphasis is placed on building community with other entrepreneurs.  There is much focus on doing it to help, to give back to the world, to make the “giving” the reason for doing what you do.  Sure, you are working at financial freedom, no matter what that means to you.  However the goal should be the act of service, not the making of money.  And I see that.  I read about people who have “made it” and who are all about making the world a better place.

However I am finding it hard to get to that place when the brain is so focused on doing things to get people through your door.  It’s not that I want to be selfish because I don’t.  But it seems hard to separate it all.  One author recommended developing relationships with other entrepreneurs in an act of service, to do things without expecting anything in return so that you don’t get disappointed if there is not a reciprocated action.  But it almost seems as if it would be hard to go into a business relationship without that “where will this lead” thought in the background.

The place I want to get to is to go about this with an “income is secondary, helping out your fellow man is primary” attitude.  That is also when things seem to take off for people.  But by acknowledging that being helpful helps yourself, there is still “self” at the end of this equation.  I would like to get to that place where the “self” is left at the door, allowing things to unfold as they should.  At the end of the day, I would like a true mindset shift that becomes about love and not “me.”  So many have said that they are seeing their purpose unfold in front of their eyes and are coming from a place of abundance and not scarcity.  That is where I want to be, but I am not completely there yet.  I pray that God will continue to transform my heart into one such as this.

 

Leave a Reply

